Benoit Mernier

Organist and composer

Born in Belgium in 1964, Benoît Mernier studied organ with Firmin Decerf, Jean Ferrard, Joris Verdin and Jean Boyer. He has also studied harpsichord with Charles Koenig. He performs regularly as a soloist in several European countries, Japan, Mexico and Canada. One of his recordings was awarded the “Grand Prix de l’Académie du disque Charles Cros”.

Benoît Mernier is also a composer. In this respect, he has benefited from the teaching of Philippe Boesmans. His works are played by a lot of ensembles and orchestras in Europe and the United States. He has won several international prizes and his works have been the subject of several recordings (Cyprès: www.cypres-records.com), including his first opera “Frühlings Erwachen” which was commissioned by the Théâtre de la Monnaie in Brussels. This CD and DVD production was awarded a “Diapason d’Or”.

As “Composer in Residence” at the Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels, at the Austrian Carinthischer Sommer Festival or “Guest of Honour” at the Festival de Wallonie, he wrote the compulsory work for one of the singing sessions of the Queen Elisabeth International Music Competition.

The Koussevitzky Foundation and the American Library of Congress commissioned his 3rd String Quartet for the centenary of the Pro Arte Quartet, which was premiered and recorded in the United States. The Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels commissioned him to write a concerto for the inauguration of his new organ by Olivier Latry. This work was the subject of a discographic publication which earned him the Octaves de la Musique 2019 award. He orchestrated the 2nd Choral by Franck, which was highly acclaimed.

Benoît Mernier is professor of organ at the Royal Conservatory of Music in Brussels. He is also titular organist of the church Notre-Dame au Sablon and curator of the new organ at the Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels. He is a member of the Fine Arts class of the Royal Academy of Belgium and gives master classes in composition at the Queen Elizabeth Chapel.

https://www.facebook.com/benoit.mernier.belgium/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCGMTA1E0I_lZcPQSi58dxeQ

http://www.conservatoire.be/etudes/musique-classique-et-contemporaine/claviers/orgue/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCv8JBTDqeHwvELoDl1TucUw

Benoît Mernier

Organiste et compositeur

Né en Belgique en 1964, Benoît Mernier a étudié l’orgue avec Firmin Decerf, Jean Ferrard, Joris Verdin et Jean Boyer. Il a également travaillé le clavecin avec Charles Koenig. Il se produit régulièrement comme soliste dans plusieurs pays d’Europe, au Japon, au Mexique, au Canada. L’un de ses disques a été couronné par le Grand Prix de l’Académie du disque Charles Cros.

Benoît Mernier est également compositeur. À cet égard, il a bénéficié de l’enseignement de Philippe Boesmans. Ses œuvres sont jouées par de nombreux ensembles et orchestres en Europe et aux États-Unis. Il a remporté plusieurs prix internationaux et ses œuvres ont fait l’objet de plusieurs réalisations discographiques (Cyprès : www.cypres-records.com) dont son premier opéra « Frühlings Erwachen » qui lui a été commandé par le Théâtre de la Monnaie à Bruxelles. Cette production CD et DVD a été récompensée par un Diapason d’Or.

« Compositeur en résidence » au Palais des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles, au festival autrichien Carinthischer Sommer ou « invité d’honneur » du Festival de Wallonie, il a écrit l’œuvre imposée pour l’une des sessions chant du Concours Musical International Reine-Élisabeth.

La fondation Koussevitzky et la Bibliothèque du Congrès américain lui ont fait la commande de son 3ème Quatuor à cordes pour le centenaire du Pro Arte Quartet qui a été créé et et enregistré aux Etats-Unis. Le Palais des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles lui a commandé un concerto pour l’inauguration de son nouvel orgue par Olivier Latry. Cette œuvre a fait l’objet d’une parution discographique qui lui a valu l’octroi des Octaves de la Musique 2019. Il a réalisé une orchestration du 2e Choral de Franck fort remarquée.

Benoît Mernier est professeur d’orgue au Conservatoire Royal de Musique de Bruxelles. Il est également organiste titulaire de l’église Notre-Dame au Sablon et conservateur du nouvel orgue du Palais des Beaux-Arts à Bruxelles. Il est membre de la classe des Beaux-Arts de l’Académie Royale de Belgique et donne des master class de composition à la Chapelle Reine-Élisabeth.

https://www.facebook.com/benoit.mernier.belgium/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCGMTA1E0I_lZcPQSi58dxeQ

http://www.conservatoire.be/etudes/musique-classique-et-contemporaine/claviers/orgue/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCv8JBTDqeHwvELoDl1TucUw